The Apache Haus Forum

Forum Topics => Apache Programming and Building => Topic started by: youngpee0110 on May 23, 2020, 06:34:29 PM

Title: Patch problems on Windows Vista and up
Post by: youngpee0110 on May 23, 2020, 06:34:29 PM
You know, patch.exe has given me hell since I started using it on Vista and beyond. It requires admin and I just don't run admin much when prepping source or building even.ข่าวฟุตบอลออนไลน์ (https://superkick365.com/)
Clicking OK on the UAC warning also doesn't work so this has been a thorn in my side for some time.

Administrator Edit: Removed link to a website not on topic.
Title: Re: Patch problems on Windows Vista and up
Post by: Gregg on May 23, 2020, 11:01:04 PM
This is a good question, the problem is a pain in the back side. I have to credit mario for the answer.

1. Put a copy of your patch.exe file into a folder somewhere.
2. Create a text file named patch.exe.manifest and add the below code to it modifying the version to match yours. Save it in the folder you put patch.exe in.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<assembly xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1"
manifestVersion="1.0">
<assemblyIdentity
version="2.5.9.7"
processorArchitecture="X86"
name="Patch"
type="win32"
/>
<description> A tool for applying diff-generated patches. </description>
<!-- Identify the application security requirements. -->
<trustInfo xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v3">
<security>
<requestedPrivileges>
<requestedExecutionLevel
level="asInvoker"
uiAccess="false"/>
</requestedPrivileges>
</security>
</trustInfo>
</assembly>


3. Open a Visual Studio x86 command window and cd to the folder you put patch.exe and patch.exe.manifest in.
4. Run this command   mt -manifest patch.exe.manifest -outputresource:patch.exe;1 
5. Test it on something, it should never ask again or at least mine doesn't.

(https://forum.apachehaus.com/avatars/patch-manifest-post.png)
Title: Re: Patch problems on Windows Vista and up
Post by: robincortez on May 26, 2020, 10:17:03 AM
Quote from: Gregg on May 23, 2020, 11:01:04 PM
This is a good question, the problem is a pain in the back side. I have to credit mario for the answer.

1. Put a copy of your patch.exe file into a folder somewhere.
2. Create a text file named patch.exe.manifest and add the below and code to it modifying the version to match yours. Save it in the folder you put patch.exe in.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<assembly xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1"
manifestVersion="1.0">
<assemblyIdentity
version="2.5.9.7"
processorArchitecture="X86"
name="Patch"
type="win32"
/>
<description> A tool for applying diff-generated patches. </description>
<!-- Identify the application security requirements. -->
<trustInfo xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v3">
<security>
<requestedPrivileges>
<requestedExecutionLevel
level="asInvoker"
uiAccess="false"/>
</requestedPrivileges>
</security>
</trustInfo>
</assembly>


3. Open a Visual Studio x86 command window and cd to the folder you put patch.exe and patch.exe.manifest in.
4. Run this command   mt -manifest patch.exe.manifest -outputresource:patch.exe;1 
5. Test it on something, it should never ask again or at least mine doesn't.

(https://forum.apachehaus.com/avatars/patch-manifest-post.png)
Thanks. It works just fine now.