Issues Upgrading Apache/OpenSSL

Started by Johan, April 30, 2015, 09:48:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Johan

Hello

Preface: Im currently running Windows 2003 Server, Apache 2.2.19, OpenSSL 0.9.8r, PHP 5.3.3, a little known, and now (pretty much dead//unsupported) CGI language called iHTML, and about 10-20k lines of code written in iHTML.

My SSL certificate was coming up for renewal, so I purchased a new cert from DigiCert.

Everything appeared to be ok, until I followed their advice to test my server with ssllabs.com. My server got an "F" :(
This sucked me into another black hole of time, in order to attempt to get my server updated/more secure.
Note: Im an applications programmer, not an IT guy, although I own my own biz, so Im forced to occasionally put on my IT hat.

Googling "Upgrade OpenSSL" lead me to a site called shininglightpro.com. I spent many hours yesterday futzing with the the OpenSSL 1.0.2a from that site, on a live server.

After I got it all installed (without ANY instructions from that site, just an "installer exe" which didnt have much useful feedback about what the heck it was doing) was Apache finally started.
I thought "ok! Im done!"..

UNTIL I realized Apache was crashing, and my phone started to ring from customers calling me to tell me their site was down, so I reverted back to my old version of OpenSSL.

I went to a meeting, and along the way, I got to thinking.. maybe my Apache is too old for this OpenSSL version?!

After more hours of Googling "upgrade Apache" late last night, I wound up on this site..

I downloaded Apache 2.4.12 VC9, and proceeded to modify it's httpd.conf file by copying from the old conf file (this time, Im working on a secondary server, so Im not messing with a live server, which I HATE to do).

Ive gotten past most of the incompatibilities/changes with some of the commands in the conf file, and then I hit another brick wall.